A Window to Tasmanian History
The Old Colony Inn
One of the town's oldest registered properties. This historic home began life in 1815 as a cellar for storage of hops and was later extended with a mud brick lower floor. The convict brick upper floor was added in 1835 which now proudly houses our colonial accommodation.
The original land grant was to John S Hampton and William Courtney who were overseers of the convict stores, two of our suites have been named in their hounour to acknowledge the part they played in the history of New Norfolk.
New Norfolk was founded to receive the convicts and free settlers who arrived on the Lady Nelson from the penal colony of Norfolk Island when the penal colony closed on the 29th of November 1807.
Explore places from the Inn...
The Derwent Valley and beyond...
New Norfolks town center is only 5 minutes stroll away. Even closer is the beautiful Derwent river,
A (licensed) Lawn Bowls Club and the public swimming pool.
We are 45 minutes from Mt Field National Park, Russell Falls and the Tasmanian Devil Sanctuary.
Hobart and the famous Salamanca markets are only 35 minutes away.
It takes apporiximately 2.5 hours to drive to Port Authur and the Peninsula, and we are on the direct route to Strahan and Tassies' Beautiful West Coast.
After a long day exploring, relax and enjoy dinner in our restaurant. No need to venture any further than down the stairs from your beautifully appointed rooms.